Our GovernmentOur CommunityDoing BusinessI Want To

Go To Search
Departments of Public Safety
Welcome to the Southlake Departments of Public Safety
Southlake DPS is a dedicated, world class department based on the foundation of trust. We accomplish this by continuing to achieve the highest standards of safety and security for our citizens and those who conduct business in the city.

History of Southlake DPS
The City of Southlake began providing police services in 1956 and fire services in 1966. Each department protected a small community of 4,000 people through the early 1970's. As the city continued to grow, so did each department. Southlake experienced large growth in the late 1980's that demanded a larger, more involved public safety department to provide services to Southlake's 23 square miles. The City of Southlake consolidated police, fire and communications into a Department of Public Safety in October 1990. Today, Southlake DPS is composed of the Fire Department and Police Department operating as Departments of Public Safety. 

How We Operate
The Fire Department is led by Fire Chief Michael Starr and the Police Department by Police Chief James Brandon. The Departments of Public Safety currently operates out of three facilities.

Members of the Department of Public Safety work to maintain the values that make Southlake an attractive, vibrant, safe, healthy and fiscally sound community in which to live and work.

Drivers License Information

3901 West Arkansas Lane, Suite 111

Fort Worth
8301 Brentwood Stair Road

624 Northeast Loop 820

190 North Valley Parkway, Suite 201

Vehicle Registration Office

1400 Main Street, Suite 110
Info Advanced