Public Safety

Departments of Public Safety

The City of Southlake has two departments dedicated to public safety: the Fire Department and the Police Department. Together they make up the Departments of Public Safety.

Both departments office in three locations: DPS Headquarters, 600 State Street; DPS North Training Facility, 100 East Dove Road; and DPS West, 2100 West Southlake Boulevard.

Fire Department

The first official Fire Department was established in Southlake in 1966.  It was created by the previous all-volunteer fire department which began organizing in 1965 by creating by-laws and choosing officers. The Fire department has more than 70 employees and is lead by Chief Michael Starr.

Police Department

The first Chief of Police for the City of Southlake was hired in 1966, and the City purchased its first patrol car in 1967. The Police department currently employs 73 sworn and civilian employees and is led by Chief James Brandon.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4