Crime Control and Prevention District


The Crime Control and Prevention District is governed by a board of seven Southlake residents who have been appointed by the City Council for staggered, two-year terms. The Crime Control and Prevention District Board works jointly with the City Council to ensure that funds raised through the 1/8 cent Crime Control sales tax are spent on programs and capital purchases that will reduce crime, increase public safety and maintain a high quality of life in Southlake.


  • 6:30 p.m.
  • Quarterly
  • Department of Public Safety (DPS) Headquarters
    600 State Street
  • Public welcome to attend all meetings

Appointment Process

Members are appointed to a two-year term, unless appointed to fulfill an existing vacancy. Members serve at the will of Council and shall continue to serve until their successors are duly appointed and sworn into office.

Residents interested in serving on this board shall complete an application and submit it to the City Secretary no later than September 11. Applications will remain on file for one year.

If you have any questions on the appointment process, please contact the City Secretary’s Office at (817) 748-8183.


All correspondence for Crime Control and Prevention District Board of Directors shall be sent to:

Crime Control and Prevention District Board of Directors
c/o City of Southlake
Departments of Public Safety
600 State Street
Southlake, Texas 76092

Fax: (817) 748-8158

Agendas & Minutes

The agenda will be available by 6:00 p.m. on the Friday prior to the meetings.  View All
Minutes are also available following approval. 

Crime Control & Prevention District 

Chief James Brandon, CCPD Liaison


Ken McMillan, President, Place 1
(term expires: September 2023) 

Robert Williams, Vice President, Place 2 
(term expires: September 2023)

Frank Powers, Place 3
(term expires: September 2023)

Kara Carreras Clubb, Place 4 
(term expires: September 2022)

Jay Demas, Place 5
(term expires: September 2022)

David Barnes, Place 6
(term expires: September 2022) 

William Meddings, Place 7 
(term expires: September 2022)

  1. James Brandon, Police Chief

    James Brandon

    Police Chief
    Phone: (817) 748-8114