Building Codes

The Building Codes are a set of universally accepted standards adopted as guidelines for construction of buildings and related operations. The term "building codes" is a generic phrase that actually encompasses several individual codes, each of which must be adopted by the City Council before they can be applied or enforced. These codes are periodically updated, primarily due to new products entering the marketplace, and then minor revisions may be made in the adopting ordinance under the term "local amendments".

Local Amendments

The following is a listing of local amendments adopted by the City of Southlake related to building construction codes.

International Building Codes:

International Mechanical Codes:

International Energy Conservation Codes:

International Fuel Gas Codes:

International Fire Codes:

International Plumbing Codes:

International Residential Codes:

International Existing Building Codes:

Effective September 15, 2017: The Texas Electrical Safety and Licensing Act requires the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) to adopt the latest edition of the National Electrical Code (NEC) as the electrical code for the state of Texas. TDLR has adopted the 2017 NEC as the electrical code for the state of Texas and establish it as the "minimum standard" for all electrical work in Texas. See the TDLR website for additional information below.

Historical Building Codes

The building codes history provides a summary of all adopted building codes in the City of Southlake.

International Building Codes:

International Building Codes: